Frequently asked questions


What are the Tech Trailblazers Awards?

The Tech Trailblazers are an exciting awards program.

It’s global – Entries are welcomed from around the world, from Hawaii to Istanbul, from Finland to Australia. Innovation lives everywhere, and we’d like to hear about and reward the finest.

It’s focused on enterprise technology startups only. We are focusing on: AI, big data, blockchain, cloud, containers, developer, fintech, infosecurity, internet of things, mobile, networking and storage.

In addition, all entrants are invited to submit their senior trailblazers into the Female & Male Tech Trailblazers of the year awards.

Younger, pre-VC startups are also encouraged to enter as Firestarters if they are 2 years or younger.

The program recognizes and rewards technological and commercial innovation and entrepreneurial excellence.

How can we find out more and keep up to date?

Twitter: @techtrailblaze

Throughout the awards program we will regularly update our feed, so please follow us at @techtrailblaze. You can also follow the Twitter buzz on the hashtag #TTAwards.

You can also sign up for our latest news by joining our mailing list.

LinkedIn: linkedin.com/company/tech-trailblazers-awards

Who is eligible to enter?

Enterprise tech startups that are under 6 years old (based on time of the company was founded) and privately funded or at C-series funding or below are eligible. Entries must be submitted before the deadline in Autumn 2020.

How to Win by Head Judge Stephen O’Donnell

Are the awards for companies or innovations?

 

The awards are given to companies, in recognition of products or services that deliver innovation in the AI, big data, blockchain, cloud, containers, developer, fintech, infosecurity, internet of things, mobile, networking and storage categories.

When do submissions open?

 

Call for entries opens on 27th June 2020. Please contact innovate@techtrailblazers.com for further information.

When do they close?

 

Final submissions close on September 25th 2020. Please contact innovate@techtrailblazers.com for further information.

When will the winners be announced?

 

Winners announced in December 2020.

Will there be an awards ceremony or other event?

 

At present, there is no physical event.. but keep an eye out in our newsletter and on twitter as we regularly attend industry events and meet ups and love to meet exciting startups when we do.

Is there a cost?

 

The cost is $345 per entry, subsequent entries cost $195 per entry.

Early stage pre-VC funding startups can also apply for a Firestarter bursary to cover entry costs. Click here to see if you are eligible.

What is the Tech Trailblazers Firestarter bursary?

 

The Firestarter bursary is for non-VC backed startups up to two years old. This has been created to ensure that entry fees are not a barrier for the new lean startups who are still securing major funding from VCs. This new program will attract more earlier stage startups within the accelerator and incubator communities as well as those self-funding or with angel, seed and crowd-funding as their primary source of investment.

Early stage pre-VC funding startups can also apply for a Firestarter bursary to cover entry costs. Click here to see if you are eligible.

How do I pay for my submission?

 

When entering the awards you will automatically be prompted to pay online. The system uses PayPal as the engine so you can use a PayPal account or most major credit cards. You do not need a PayPal account to pay by credit or debit card. If you encounter any issues, please contact us at innovate@techtrailblazers.com.

Can I enter more than one category?

 

As long as your innovation demonstrates a clear business benefit for customers in that category, then yes, you can enter as many categories as you like. Please make sure you upload all entries before heading to pay as this ensures you receive all multiple entry discounts. If you do not, we can refund the difference at our discretion, but it will be subject to an administration fee per extra entry submitted separately.

Having problems with your entry?

 

If you are having problems with the Tech Trailblazers online entry form or any other area of the entry process please contact the Tech Trailblazers team at innovate@techtrailblazers.com. We will respond as soon as possible and help you with your entry.

Who will judge our entry?

 

Exactly who will look at your entry will not be disclosed. It will include at least three of the industry experts in each category you have entered.

At present the judging panel includes:

Mohit Agrawal, Founder and Editor, Telecom Circle (@telecomcircle)
Jennifer Arcuri, Founder, Hacker House (@jennifer_arcuri)
Joe Baguley, CTO EMEA, VMware (@joebaguley)
Steve Broadhead, Founder and Director, Broadband-Testing Labs (@steve_broadhead)
Mike Burkitt, CTO, Launchpad Europe (@launchpadeurope)
Brad Bush, CIO, Dialexa (@jbradleybush)
Chirodeep Chakraborty, London
Teresa Cottam, Founder and Chief Analyst, Telesperience (@teresacottam)
Todd Embley, Program Manager (@ToddEmbley)
Chris Evans, Consultant and Blogger, TheStorageArchitect.com (@chrismevans)
Ian French, Channel Guru, Mentor and Entrepreneur (@siceo)
Marty Foltyn, Hands-On Lab Program, SNIA (@MartyFoltyn)
Stephen Foskett, Founder in Chief – Gestalt IT, Organizer in Chief – Tech Field Day (@SFoskett)
Bertrand Garé, L’Informaticien PARIS (@l1formaticien)
Edward P. Gibson, CEO, Embassy Attache Groups (@EdwardPGibson)
Martin Glassborow, Blogger, Storagebod (@storagebod)
James Governor, Co-Founder, RedMonk (@monkchips)
Michael Hill, Editor, Infosecurity Magazine (@MichaelInfosec)
Brian Honan, CEO, BH Consulting (@brianhonan)
Elise Huang, Partner, WestSummit Capital
Sam Johnston, Director Labs, DXC Technology (@samj)
Ben Kepes, Principal, Diversity Limited (@benkepes)
Julian Levy, Operating Partner, Redline Capital, London (@_julianlevy)
Keri Lewis, CISO with a leading financial services company
Justin Lodge, Principal Architect – Technology & Innovation at Standard Chartered Bank, Singapore (@justin_lodge)
Steve O’Donnell, TheHotAisle  (@stephenodonnell)
Trevor Pott, The Register (@cakeis_not_alie)
W. Curtis Preston, CEO TruthInIT, (@wcpreston)
Dimitri Podoliev, Co-founder & Managing Partner, iHUB
Kai Roer, Senior Partner, The Roer Group (@kairoer)
Raj Samani, EMEA Strategy Advisor, Cloud Security Alliance (@raj_samani)
Andrew Seldon, Editor, Hi-Tech Security Solutions, TechNews (@andrewseldon)
Sarb Sembhi, Director, Consultancy Services, Incoming Thought (@sarbsembhi)
Enrico Signoretti, Senior Consultant, Juku Consulting SRL (@esignoretti)
Jennifer Steffens, CEO, IOactive (@securesun)
Stuart Sumner, Editor, Computing (@stuartsumner)
Dr Jacqui Taylor, CEO, FlyingBinary§ (@jacquitaylorfb)
Arjan Timmerman, Co-founder, Tech Unplugged (@Arjantim)
Jeff Vance, Founder & Editor, Startup 50 (@JWVance)

Is this the final judging list?

 

We have a healthy bank of amazing judges now and but also receive a healthy volume of amazing entries so we regularly review the judging pool and may add additional judges, if required.

How does judging take place?

 

Judges from our extensive pool of industry experts around the world will shortlist a number of startups in each category. 

The awards will then be opened up to a public vote. The category judges will also vote for their favourites.

How will the public vote be conducted?

 

The public vote for the Tech Trailblazers awards takes place here on our website, once the shortlists are available you can vote once in each category.

Who are the industry supporters?

 

Industry supporters to date include AfriLabs, Amoo Venture Capital Advisory, Chinaccelerator, Cloud Security Alliance, Computing, Global Entrepreneurship Week, GSMA MWC, Hippflow, ICEHOUSE, Innovation Warehouse, IPEXPO, Launchpad Europe, LOGA Group, Prezi, Skolkovo, SNIA, StarTau, Startup America, Tech Field Day, The Green Grid, TiE Silicon Valley, VLAB, VMware, Wayra and Wazoku.

If you are interested in becoming an industry supporter, please contact Rose Ross on the Tech Trailblazers team – rross@techtrailblazers.com

Are there any media partners?

 

Yes! We have a growing number of high-level media partners, including BeSuccess, bnetTV, Computing, Gestalt IT, IPEXPO, L’Informaticien, Outsource, Silicon Cape, Silicon Dragon, Startup50, Tech In Asia, The Next Silicon Valley, Tech Node, The Register, ToWave and Venture Burn.

Any media outlets interested in partnering should contact our PR team, Omarketing. Vicki Porter – innovate@omarketing.com.