What are the Tech Trailblazers awards?

The Tech Trailblazers is an exciting new awards program.

It’s global – Entries are welcomed from around the world, from Hawaii to Istanbul, from Finland to Australia. Innovation lives everywhere, and we’d like to hear about and reward the finest.

It’s focused on enterprise technology startups only. We are focusing on: big data, cloud, infosecurity, mobile, networking, storage, sustainable IT, emerging markets and virtualization. In addition, new this year are Regional Cups which all entrants are automatically submitted into.

The program recognizes and rewards technological and commercial innovation and entrepreneurial excellence.

Winners in each category win mentoring from a leading vendor and VC and IPO boot camps, along with thousands of dollars’ worth of prizes.

How can we find out more and keep up to date?

Twitter: @techtrailblaze

Throughout the awards program we will regularly update our feed, so please follow us at @techtrailblaze. You can also follow the Twitter buzz on the hashtag #TTAwards.

You can also sign up for our latest news by joining our mailing list.

Website: www.techtrailblazers.com

Linked In: linkedin.com/company/tech-trailblazers-awards

Who is eligible to enter?

Enterprise tech startups that are five years old or less (based on time of the company was founded) and privately funded or at C-series funding or below are eligible. Entries must be submitted before the deadline on September 12th.

Are the awards for companies or innovations?

The awards are given to companies, in recognition of products or services that deliver innovation in the big data, cloud, infosecurity, mobile, networking, storage, sustainable IT, emerging markets and virtualization categories.

When do submissions open?

The Tech Trailblazers is now closed for submissions.

When do they close?

The Tech Trailblazers is now closed for submissions.

When will the shortlist be announced?

The shortlist will be announced in December 2013.

When will the winners be announced?

Voting closes on 23rd January 2014, and we will announce winners soon after that.

Will there be an awards ceremony or other event?

Other than our presence at IP Expo 2013 (London, Earls Court 2), there is no physical event. This is a global program covering a wide range of technology sectors, and we felt we could only have a party if all the winners, finalists, judges, sponsors and other Tech Trailblazers could be there. Because that is not feasible, we decided to focus our efforts on putting together a fantastic package for the winners, and we are sure that all the winners and runners-up will celebrate their success, wherever they are.

Is there a cost?

Until entries close on September 26, 2013, the cost is $295 per entry.

For emerging markets, we charge a flat fee of just $50. Click here to see if you qualify. All entrants are automatically entered for their Regional Cup free of charge.

How do I pay for my submission?

When you upload the entry form, you will automatically be prompted to pay online. It uses PayPal as the engine so you can use a PayPal account or most major credit cards. Please ensure you or the person making the payment quotes the reference of your entry as indicated on the entry form, to ensure we can tie up the payment with your entry.

Is there an early bird awards submissions rate?

Yes! Entry is just $250 until August 12th, after which the standard $295 per entry is charged. Emerging markets benefit from a flat fee of just $50.

Can I enter more than one category?

As long as your innovation demonstrates a clear business benefit for customers in that category, then yes, you can enter as many categories as you like. Please make sure you upload all entries before heading to pay as this ensures you receive all multiple entry discounts. If you do not, we can refund the difference at our discretion, but it will be subject to an administration fee per extra entry submitted separately.

What is the Emerging Markets Trailblazers category?

This category focuses on startups headquartered in emerging markets, not companies selling into these regions. A complete lists of countries qualifying as ‘Emerging Markets’ can be found here.

What are the Regional Cups?

The category is open to all enterprise technology startups from those regions, who will also be automatically be entered into their local Regional Cup.

Is it true that all entrants get something even if they are not shortlisted?

Yes. To ensure we do our best to support as many enterprise tech startups as we can, we have been able to secure a range of free products and services from sponsors to share with companies once they have submitted their entries.

What are the prizes for the winners and runners-up?

Category winners receive exclusive coaching, mentoring and development from VCs, financial experts, and leading technologists within large industry-vendors in their technology area.

Winners and runners-up will also receive a variety of business development, PR, marketing and other products and services worth thousands of pounds. The total estimated prize fund is projected at over $1,000,000.

Who will judge our entry?

Exactly who will look at your entry will not be disclosed. It will include at least 2 of the industry experts in each category you have entered.

What is the Entry Criteria?

 Only companies 5 years old and younger and privately funded or “C” series funding are eligible for the Tech Trailblazers Awards.

The following are eligaible for entry: Businesses that are Privately Funded, Kickstarter, Crowdfunded, Seed funded, Angel Investment, VC funded or other private investment.  

Who are the judges?

At present the judging panel includes:

Mohit Agrawal, Founder and Editor, Telecom Circle (Twitter: @telecomcircle)

Joe Baguley, CTO EMEA, VMware (@joebaguley)

Frank J. Bernhard, Strategy and Operations Director, Deloitte Consulting (@FrankJBernhard)

Rebel Brown, Author and Startup Veteran (@RebelBrown)

Steve Broadhead, Founder and Director, Broadband-Testing Labs (@steve_broadhead)

Mike Burkitt, CTO, Launchpad Europe (@launchpadeurope)

Brad Bush, CMO, GENBAND (@jbradleybush)

Teresa Cottam, Founder and Chief Analyst, Telesperience (@teresacottam)

Todd Embley, program manager, @ToddEmbley

Chris Evans, Consultant and Blogger, TheStorageArchitect.com (@chrismevans)

Marty Foltyn, Hands-On Lab Program, SNIA (@MartyFoltyn)

Ian French, Channel Guru, Mentor and Entrepreneur (@siceo)

Edward P. Gibson,Senior Director, Alvarez and Marsal (@EdwardPGibson)

Martin Glassborow, Blogger, Storagebod (@storagebod)

James Governor, Co-Founder, RedMonk (@monkchips)

Derrick Harris, Senior Writer, GigaOM (@derrickharris)

Mark Hillary, CEO IT Decisions (@markhillary)

Brian Honan, CEO, BH Consulting (@brianhonan)

Elise Huang, Partner, WestSummit Capital

Sam Johnston, Director, Cloud & IT Services, Equinix (@samj)

Ben Kepes, Principal, Diversity Limited (@benkepes)

Hans De LeenHeer, Evangelist, HaDeLe, (@hansdeleenheer)

Julian Levy, Executive Director, Technology Business Development Group, Morgan Stanley

Justin Lodge, Infrastructure Architect, National Australia Bank (@justin_lodge)

Chris Mellor, Storage Editor, The Register (@chris_mellor)

W. Curtis Preston, CEO TruthInIT, (@wcpreston)

Dimitri Podoliev, Co-founder & Managing Partner, iHUB

Simon Robinson, Research Vice President, 451 Research (@simonrob451)

Kai Roer, Senior Partner, The Roer Group (@kairoer)

Raj Samani, EMEA Strategy Advisor, Cloud Security Alliance (@raj_samani)

Andrew Seldon, Editor, Hi-Tech Security Solutions, TechNews (@andrewseldon)

Sarb Sembhi, Director, Consultancy Services, Incoming Thought (@sarbsembhi)

Enrico Signoretti, Senior Consultant, Juku Consulting SRL (@esignoretti)

Harkeeret Singh, Global Head of Energy & Sustainable IT, Thomson Reuters (@harqs)

Jennifer Steffens, CEO, IOactive (@securesun)

Stuart Sumner, Editor, Computing (@stuartsumner)

Jon Toigo, CEO, Toigo Partners International (@jontoigo)

Monica Zlotogorski, Editor, Inside Latin America, TM Forum (@MonicaCZN)

Is this the final judging list?

We have a healthy bank of judges now, but we do anticipate a lot of entries, so we will review the judging pool over the summer and may add additional judges, if required.

How does judging take place?

Judges from our extensive pool of industry experts around the world will short-list a number of startups in each category. Once the shortlist has been finalized in mid-October, we will ask the finalists to add additional information to their entries, including a short informative video about who they are and why they should win.

The awards will then be opened up to a public vote. The category judges will also vote for their favourites.

How will the public vote be conducted?

We work with Wazoku to provide a great voting platform with the winners entries and their videos or prezis to give the voting public a great insight into why they should be voted our Tech Trailblazers.

Who are the sponsors and industry partners?

Sponsors to date include TiE Silicon Valley, StarTau, Storage Networking Industry Association (SNIA), Startup America, Cloud Security Alliance, VLAB – MIT/Stanford Venture Labs, AfriLabs, Chinaccelerator, VM Ware, Amoo Venture Capital Advisory, The Green Grid, Computing, Wazoku, Launchpad Europe, The ExecEvent, Mynewsdesk, Prezi, Realwire and Lissted.

If you are interested in becoming a sponsor or an industry partner, please contact David Shannon on the Tech Trailblazers team - rross@techtrailblazers.com.com

Are there any media partners?

Yes! We have a growing number of high-level media partners, including Hippflow, TechNode, Tech In Asia, Silicon Cape Initiative, Ventureburn, Bnet TV, Innovation Warehouse, GigaOM, The Data Chain, The Next Silicon Valley, Outsource, beSUCCESS, Computing and iHub.

GigaOM will be giving away a Startup Zone package at their Structure: Europe 2013 event, and free event tickets and research subscriptions, while BNet TV will be interviewing category winners where possible through 2013 and 14.

Any media outlets interested in partnering should contact our PR team, Omarketing. Olivia Shannon – Olivia@Omarketing.co.uk / @Olivia_at_O.